Global Immigration Updates

European Union
• Effective 1 July 2021, the Regulations on the European Union’s Digital COVID Certificate (EUDCC) have officially been implemented. Most European countries have either previously implemented the certificate or rolled out the program as of 1 July with only Hungary, Ireland, Romania, and Switzerland still to fully implement.
o The certificate:
 provides proof that a person has either:
 been vaccinated against COVID-19
 received a negative test result
 or recovered from COVID-19;
 is issued for free;
 is available in digital and paper formats;
 is available in a national language and English;
 is valid in all EU and Schengen zone countries;
 consists of a QR code and a digital signature.
o Vaccination certificates will be issued to a vaccinated person with any COVID-19 vaccine.
 When it comes to waiving free movement restrictions, Member States will have to accept vaccination certificates for vaccines which received EU marketing authorisation. Member States may decide to extend this also to EU travellers that received another vaccine.
 It is also for Member States to decide whether they accept a vaccination certificate after one dose or after a full vaccination cycle has been completed.

New Zealand
• Effective 1 July 2021, quarantine-free travel from certain areas of Australia remains paused:
o Quarantine-free travel from New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland, and Western Australia will remain paused until at least 6 July 2021.
 Note that travellers also must not have been in New South Wales on or after 11:59pm on 22 June or in Queensland, the Northern Territory or Western Australia on or after 10:30pm on 26 June 2021.
o Quarantine-free travel from Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory (ACT), Victoria, and South Australia will remain paused with planned resumption on Sunday, 4 July.
• Negative pre-departure tests will be required to enter New Zealand if you have been in Australia for more than 72 hours.

• Entry is suspended for non-citizens and non-residents of Nigeria who have visited or stayed in Brazil, India, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Turkey, Uganda, and Zambia within 14 days or travelling to Nigeria.
• Russia has lifted flight and entry restrictions for citizens and permanent residents of the following “green list” countries: Albania (only charter flights), Azerbaijan, Armenia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Maldives, Mauritius, Morocco, North Macedonia, Qatar, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam,the United Kingdom, and the United States.

• Effective 2 July 2021, The Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) announced tightening of health monitoring measures for individuals entering Taiwan via airport or port:
o Arriving travellers who have visited key high-risk countries in the past 14 days – will be required to quarantine in group facilities for 14 days with accommodation fees paid by the government. These individuals will be subject to COVID-19 PCR tests upon check-in and exit-from the facility. In addition, they will be subject to an at-home rapid test between the 10th and 12th day of their quarantine period,
o Arriving travellers who have not visited key high-risk countries in the past 14 days – will be required to take a deep-throat saliva test and COVID-19 PCR test upon arrival at the airport/port, take a designated quarantine vehicle to a quarantine hotel or facility, and complete a 14-day quarantine at their own expense. These individuals will be required to undergo a rapid test between the 10th and 12th day of their quarantine and a COVID-19 PCR test between the 12th and 14th day of quarantine.

Posted in
Scroll to Top